China is repressing an ethnic Muslim minority on an unprecedented scale — here are their excuses for imprisoning people

In fact, China has a list of 26 “sensitive countries” that Xinjiang residents can be punished for having ties with. All of them are either majority-Muslim or have large Muslim populations.

The countries are: Afghanistan, Algeria, Azerbaijan, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, South Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, and Yemen.

Continue reading...